Shamma: New York Tribune / Herald Tribune

For this assignment I chose to center my focus on poliomyelitis in the U.S. I actually really enjoyed this archive because I liked having a newspaper as a primary source, as it includes both images and text. I found the archive to be fairly easy to navigate, and, having a specific topic in mind, all I really had to do was search “polio” and several newspapers with the word “polio” in it would come up. There’s also an option for an advanced search which allows you to narrow down your search further, which is especially useful if you don’t have a specific topic in mind. Many of the newspaper sources I found and used from this archive were pieces written by doctors, usually focusing on the nature of polio and precautions to take. All of the newspapers also provided all of the proper citation information like author, date, short description, page numbers, and more. Overall, I thought that it was a very solid archive, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for primary sources that involve newspaper articles.

Leave a Comment

