Art at the Renwick

When going to the Renwick, I thought I knew what to expect. I had seen my friends post pictures before, and even read something online about the exhibit when it first opened. However, seeing the pictures online is a vastly different experience than viewing them in person. I have to say, I was pretty excited to go with the explicit goal of taking pictures. I had seen how pretty a lot of my friends pictures had turned out, and I’m obsessed with taking cool instagrams so this seemed right up my alley.

The first picture is my favorite one. I think the angle is really cool because it fully encapsulates all the colors and the scope of the rainbow. I added the filter for Instagram’s sake. I really love how the white pillars contrast with the rainbow, and the wall behind it. As enjoyable as this portion of the exhibit was, I found myself less focused on the art and more focused on getting ‘the perfect picture’. I must have taken this photo at least 11 different times, trying to get the lighting, angle and frame perfect. In addition to that, I spent even more time editing it for Instagram. I noticed a lot of people around me, especially those my age, doing the exact same thing. IMG_3525I think this is a bit of a problem with my generation. Often we are less concerned about experiencing something, and more concerned with blasting it out on social media to prove we have been somewhere and done something cool. With the museum, my photos are not necessarily exactly how you would view the art on your first glance because I spent a while trying to take a good picture. That caused me to question whether or not my pictures were in line with the artists intent. Were the presenting something different than intended?

The second picture is really cool, although incredibly different from the first one. While the previous photo is filled with every color imaginable, this picture is devoid of almost any color at all. I love how the large mounds tower so high as to appear they’re taller than the large arched windows. I think that adds a cool element of prospective that may often go overlooked. IMG_3526Similar to the last one, I edited this photo. I made it so that everything looks a bit more white and bright than it was when I initially took the photo. While doing this, I once again arrived at the central question, is it wrong to distort the art in a way that the artist did not intend? However, I think art is meant to be experienced and internalized by individuals. Everyone experiences things in different ways, and I think that as long as one is thinking about, interacting with, and appreciating the art, it does not matter how you experience, just as long as you do.

-Abby Marone

Leave a Comment

