October 9th Sketch Assignment

I have found two interesting digital archives that have been of great help to me in developing my research topic. One of these archives is the New York Public Library, which holds the Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs. This collection contains a large number of political cartoons ranging from the 1880s to the 1900s. Most of the cartoons are depictions of big business and those who controlled it, making them a large asset to my research topic, which is comparing the way big business was depicted between the two political magazines Puck, and The Judge. I am comparing these magazines because as my second article, “William Windom: Cartoon Centerfold, 1881-91,” written by Roger Fischer pointed out, these two magazines are on opposite sides of the political spectrum, one being Republican and the other Democrat. Fischer’s article revealed to me the differences in the magazines’ ideologies when he compared the portrayal of Windom in The Judge and Puck, with the expectation that the two depictions would differ due to political differences. This gave me the idea to see if the magazines had similar depictions of big business during the early Gilded Age. Although my topic is not fully developed, both of these resources have helped me create an outline for my research.

One thought on “October 9th Sketch Assignment”

  1. While researching a topic for my paper, I came across the Miriam and Ira Wallach archive as well. It had many cool historic photos from New York and even many postcards. The depictions of big business in the magazines you mentioned would definitely be interesting considering we often associate big business fans with the Republicans and its opposition with the Democrats. I would be very interested to see what kind of relations that turn up inside those periodicals!

Leave a Comment

