11:30 class

Greetings, all!  Today’s focus is on citations.  We ignored this in the drafts.  But now is the moment you want to focus on those nit-picky details.  Citations will count up to 1/3 of a letter grade in the final proposal/biblio.  So you want to get them right. Use my citation tipsheets (top menu) & Lipson, Cite Right.

Note:  Sometimes you have a source that doesn’t quite fit with the models.  In that case, follow its closest models, creating your own hybrid form for that type of source. As long as your citations are consistent, follow Chicago biblio style as closely as possible, with my Tipsheet exceptions (note what those are!), and include all the relevant info, you’ll be fine.

To work on this for class, everyone please do this:   Pick one citation you’re having trouble with.  CHECK my Tipsheet first to see if the problem is answered there.  If not, post it here as a COMMENT.  Once we have a few up (say 10 minutes or so), I’ll pick one that we’ll all work on together.  You’ll post suggested edits.

And you’ll pose any questions you have about citations.

While all this is going on, I’ll go back up and add my comments to individual questions in brackets.  So check back there & everyone should also read all my answers–I may have addressed another question you have.

22 thoughts on “11:30 class”

  1. “Lieut. Washington, a Confederate prisoner, and Capt. Custer, U.S.A.,” JPEG copies from the Library of Congress, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/94501543/ (1861-1865), (accessed 6 Feb. 2015).

    Wasn’t sure if I should use “JPEG” or the actual type of images that they are in the archive.

    [PT: That’s a great question, and one most historians don’t think about. Usually we’d not cite the digital format, just the original, and then cite the location of the digital one online. But you are welcome to include JPEG copy in your citation. But also include the original format: was this a photograph or engraving, etc.? And its original date, if known (is 1861-1865 the LOC’s dating for it?).]

  2. Yellin, Emily. Our Mothers’ War: American Women at Home and at the Front during World War II. New York City, New York: Free Press, 2004.
    -Image from book, “V.D. Worst of the Three.” National Archives

    I’m trying to cite just the image from the book but there aren’t any page numbers, chapter title, or image title. (I used the description from the image.)

    [PT: So check my closest model in the tipsheet, on artwork reproduced in a book. The artwork goes first then the reprint info for the book. If no citation info given for this image, then yes, you can simply describe it, but do so [in brackets] so we know that’s your description, not the book’s. And you can cite it as “betweeen pp. 50-51” if you need to, unless there are no page numbers at all, in which case, use “n.p.” for no pagination.]

  3. “Wisconsin Historical Society.” Vandalized Victor Berger Campaign Poster. N.p., n.d. Web. 06 Mar. 2015.

    http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/Content.aspx?dsNav=Ny:True,Ro:20,N:4294963828-4294955414&dsNavOnly=N:1137&dsRecordDetails=R:IM57783

    I’m a little unsure how to cite this poster and want to be totally correct before I include it in my final proposal. If no publisher or creator or exact date is included how should I cite it? In general, how should I be citing posters?

    [PT check my models. Cite the original thing first–incl. whatever info you have on it, esp. original date–then its location of reproduction.]

  4. Jim Watson, “Days after a September 11 terrorist attack, fires still burn amidst the rubble of the World Trade Center”. U.S. 2001, Color photographic print. National Archives Flickr Commons Collection. Available from: Flickr Commons, https://www.flickr.com/photos/slagheap/243442250/in/photolist-qJfGbk-ad4kZC-nvGUe-cF7Bc-5quXCQ-cF7Sh-qryFsm-5EHocM-nvGUb-6rfB6v-nvJpM-nvGUc-5guEL2-cF7cz-nvJpS-6rfUvF-nvJpL-8Aa2M9-nvJpR-nvKBJ-nvKBG-nvGU7-nvGUf-cF7Ae-nvGUg-5MQ4Q-pKaNys-nvJpP-am8Bvs-qLGNPF-HXdFm-cF7dv-5nXXnZ-fPptQs-y71t2-2XQNNQ-3aRUt-pM2ujk-9q6DQK-aLbaUe-8dMq7v-qtT8ZP-p8Yhhs-ambj29-J3gor-5EsZWq-hzcPr-5kVEVV-5ESYNd-5Et1c9 (accessed February 20, 2015).

    Not sure how to include the fact that its from the national archives but also that its housed on flickr

    [PT: that’s pretty close! Yes, we want to know this is from NA’s flickr collection, not their in-house collection, which is much larger. You could just give the shorter URL for the main page of this collection, if the image itself is easy enough to find once we’re in there. The specificity of the type of photograph is nice.]

  5. I usually write the style like ‘The Song of the Shirt, Ballou’s Monthly Magazine (1866-1893); Aug 1877; 46, 2; American Periodicals pg. 198’. But sometimes when I make citation about the series of WASP’s pictures (you know) which have a common author but different times of publishing, how should I quote each seperatly? Currently I make the citation like ‘3. What Shall We Do with Our Boys? March 3rd 1882, The Wasp’ with web address, do I miss something need to add?

    [PT: See the examples on my tipsheet (top menu in WordPress > Chicago: Examples). Look for ones on citing images in historical newspapers. Follow that as closely as possible.]

  6. Bennett, Filmore, S. Webster, J.P. “Old Abe Has Gone & Did it.” Sheet Music. Chicago, Illinois: H.M. Higgins, 1862. From Library of Congress, Alfred Whital Stern Collection of Lincolniana. http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.rbc/lprbscsm.scsm0197 (Accessed February 8, 2015)

    I wasn’t sure how to cite sheet music, but I formed kind of a hybrid. I’m not sure if it seems correct.

    [PT: Looks like all the information is there. Just check the little details like punctuation & order of things in Chicago Biblio style (note my examples on the tipsheet are footnote style, which you’ll use later.)]

  7. Okay, here’s a tricky one! So EVERBODY, please go to this URL and come back with YOUR citation for this item!

    Camay. 1960-1962. Camay soap, ed. Camay. Vol. TV ad.

    https://archive.org/details/Early1960sDaytimeCommercials

    This citation is difficult for me because it doesn’t say who posted this to Internet Archive, and it is a compilation of different TV ads and the ad that I want to reference starts 8 minutes and 54 seconds into the video.

  8. “Cold War” Cartoons, Cartoon Image Database, Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum, The Ohio State University Libraries
    https://cartoonimages.osu.edu/index.cfm?listOfKeyWords=cold+war&fuseaction=search.searchBack

    This is difficult, because this is a search and I would like to use all of the images, and they are all in the same collection, but there is no author or date given for the collection.

    [PT: Okay, you could just cite the entire collection here, and in the annotation say you find 12 images (that’s what it brought up for me) searching “cold war” but that there may well be other images in there relvanat to you–in fact, I’d try to find more; maybe not everything from the cold war era or about it is labelled by the bibliographers “cold war”.]

  9. Pictures of World War 2 Digital Image.1939-1945.National Archives.Web.The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration .www.archives.gov/research/military/ww2/photos/(accessed February 17,2015)

    Is this a right way to cite a whole collection since I am unsure of what images I will use?

    [PT: right, cite the name of the collection, but in quotation marks, the date range, the institution’s website, and the URL for that collection’s home page, and your access date. See the Bibliography style though, which differs from the footnote style in the order of items and punctuation.]

  10. Gene Robert, Special to The New York Times. “Allied Units Open the Biggest Drive of Vietnam War.” New York Times Mar 16 1968. (Accessed March 1, 2015).

    I was a little confused about the “Special to The New York Times part and if its in the correct spot.

    [PT: I’m not sure why you need the “special to NYT” part. Check the tipsheet models on newspapers in databases. You should cite the database (this is my rule, not Chicago’s), but not the access date, since this is a stable format item. You normally also cite the page number for newspaper articles.]

  11. I don’t know if this is right/acceptable, but it’s what I could gather from the Ad–which was super interesting!

    Camay. Camay Soap. Advertisement. Early 1960s Television Commercials. 1960-1962. TV Ad

  12. “Early 1960s Daytime Commercials.” Video File. Internet Archive, (1960-1962) Accessed (accessed date)https://archive.org/details/Early1960sDaytimeCommercials

  13. HappySwordsman, Camay. 1960-1962. Camay soap, ed. Camay. Vol. TV ad, 8:54-9:54, Classic TV Commercials, Internet Archive, accessed March 6, 2015.
    https://archive.org/details/Early1960sDaytimeCommercials

    The website says the collection was uploaded by “HappySwordsman”, so that is who I used for the author. Since no date is given, I didn’t see it possible to include. I also included the collection name, archive database, and the time for the commercial used.

  14. Great tries on this one, and I think there would be more than one right answer. Here’s what I came up with. (nice spotting the name of the uploader, Daniela!)

    Camay Soap. Television commercial. Ca. 1960-1962. “Early 1960s Daytime Commercials” (8:54-9:54). MP4 file. Internet Archive. Posted by HappySwordsman. Accessed March 6, 2015. https://archive.org/details/Early1960sDaytimeCommercials.

    I included the date range because HappySwordsman did. I put “ca.” to mean “about” since we’re not sure. Puttting the file type is optional. Internet Archive would be in italics. I like to put “posted by” in these cases since they’re not the author. I put the timestamp for this ad since it is within the larger compilation video that HS put together for us to enjoy!

  15. I’ll go back and make sure I add individual answers when needed above. But what other citations are you all having difficult with?

    What about citing entire collections?

  16. Any other questions? You can still post them here in the next 5 minutes and I’ll post an individual response in brackets. Check the ones above.

    To wrap up:

    The big take-away here is that citation styles are arbitrary. Editors (me, in this case) can alter them at will. I have done so and given you models of as many as I could think of on the tipsheet. So please check over that closely and follow those models as closely as you can.

    But if I don’t have a model there, then use Lipson and my models to help you create a reasonable version of one in that style.

    I’m forgiving on this as far as grading goes, on this project. As long as they look very close to the models–e.g. it is clear that you used the tipsheet and followed the models and guidelines there–and your citations include all the relevant info & look consistent–meaning that if you must improvise & create hybrid citations, that you do them similarly–you’ll be fine!

    If you have more questions, post them here today and I’ll answer them individually by editing the comment. Read others’ questions & my answers as well.

    Have a great break!

Leave a Comment

