post from frankcarmody

I apparently have yet to be added as an author for this page and have spent a good hour trying to find out how to post my sketch. I’m just going to leave it here for now.

Corocoran PostSketch

After visiting the Corcoran Gallery, I realized that Sontag’s believe that audiences are limited to being spectators or cowards does not necessarily hold true. Just as Sontag stated, some images forced me to look away. I could not bring myself to accept the emotional power radiated in the painful expressions of the subjects. Other pictures in the exhibit were easier to look at. I could allow myself to be drawn into the work. The struggle undergone by the subjects was not my own, and were far harsher than the difficulties I have endured, yet I could still understand what they were going through. For instance, Damon Winter’s photograph of a flying military class reminded me of the apprehension and fear that I myself have felt sometimes before embarking on something new and unnerving. Though Sontag makes a strong case for her argument that photos of war and suffering create only cowards and spectators, anyone can participate with an image so long as they strike the same emotional chord through a relatable experience of their own.

2 thoughts on “post from frankcarmody”

  1. I liked your closing sentence of this blog, Frank. I did not agree at all with Sontag’s assertion that we are limited to being spectators or cowards. I think you did a nice job summarizing the argument against Sontag’s essay; when we look at a image, it can stir emotions in us. While these emotions cannot compare to the suffering that the subject(s) of the image feel, we do nonetheless become a “piece” of the image because we feel an emotional connection.

Leave a Comment

