War Exhibit Reaction

The Corcoran Gallery really changed my mind on the true effect that portraits and photographs can have.  I always knew that they had some sort of impact on our day to day lives, but never knew the emotions and reactions that they could bring out of people until I went to the gallery.  For example, one o Len Chetwin’s photographs was known to be staged.  However, the fact in and of itself that a photographer went back into a war zone just to take a picture shows the power that photography has, and the emotions that it can evoke.  If people will go this far to fake an image, how brave and courageous could an artist be for a really strong powerful image that they believe could have a profound impact?  The gallery also made me realize the true importance of Free Press.  I was always a little bit confused as to why people made such a huge deal out of when a country had censorship, but now I understand why it is so important.  I mean just restricting the publication of some images due to gruesome details can upset people, but full blown censorship is an even bigger deal.  

I was also shocked when I saw one of the artists that had a photograph in the gallery walking around.  Professor and Photographer Donna Decesare was in the museum with us that day after she had just given a lecture a couple days ago about Wars effect on children, and it really exemplified for me how important this exhibit could be in regards to people’s views on war.  

5 thoughts on “War Exhibit Reaction”

  1. This post really opened my eyes to how these pictures play into the idea of Free Press. While looking at the war photos I never really took into account how the public or government would view them, but rather how I viewed and felt towards the images. However, looking back at it, I can see where Free Press would be a large aspect during the time the picture was taken in. For example, there were a lot of pictures that showed causalities of children during war time. These images were difficult to look at and I would imagine are pictures that the government would rather the public not view because they do not want to lose support for the war they are fighting. Overall, I thought that bringing up Free Press was an insightful idea that I did not think of before.

  2. She had a lecture presentation two days before at the Corcoran, and I recognized her at the museum. She had the painting of a latin american child in Honduras who was standing next to the body of a little boy, the boy had been killed for violating curfew. She was with the tour group that was there.

  3. Your comment about the free press is important, becauswe many brutalities of wat go unnoticed by the populatiob because they are covered up. One of the positives of this exhibit was that it showed us just how brutal war was on and off the battle field. The horrors stick with you long after you leave the actual battles in some cases.

  4. I also agree with the free press comment, I think it’s a really good point. Free press is obviously super important, and it is a right that is often violated in society. The exhibit was a pure example of the freedom of press, and how it benefits society by showing the realities of certain situations, especially the atrocities of war. The photographs may be shocking, but they allow for the truth to come out.

Leave a Comment

